My journey of getting out of the comfort bubble

Author : Priyadarshini Chettiar

Who am I?๐Ÿค”

Hi there, I'm Priyadarshini Chettiar, a programming enthusiast who has just started exploring the tech world. Recently joined as a mentor at Bash Women Community, a community with the mission to help and mentor 10K people by the end of 2021, by increasing their skills and help them to take the steps towards their dream career industry.

My Personal Favorite - Flutter and React JS โค

So what brings me here?โ„

Well, my experience brought me here. Though I had pursued my Masters in Information Technology (MSc IT), I settled for the bookish bubble for a long time, far away from the real tech industry. I had been working as a Graduate Trainee in a company and later promoted to Assistant Executive, my profile didn't had much to do with my passion and I felt in hard.

Thanks to social media platforms and YouTube, where I heard the term Open Source, GitHub, Hackathons and Seasonal Coding events for the first time. Well, I was happy with these new terms in my dictionary, since initially it felt very overwhelming to get out of the comfort bubble.

Did I broke the bubble finally?๐Ÿ™„

Of course, I did. So, here comes my favorite Youtuber Eddie Jaoude, a Github Superstar, who encourages open source contributions and completing a green square daily streak. I was so super inspired by his videos that unknowingly broke my first bubble and learned GitHub. ๐Ÿ˜…

Next Opensource, well I had once participated in Girl Script Summer of Code in early 2020, but failed terribly, since I was unaware about how to contribute to open source projects. So, one of my new year resolution for 2021 is to contribute to open source projects, no matter big or small contribution, I just know that it matters.๐Ÿ’ช

The next big bubble, "Hackathons", the term itself had filled me up with nervousness and the imposter syndrome start booming in. ๐Ÿ˜ต

Thanks to the discord group of Eddie Jaoude, where I heard about the MLH Hackathon Local Hack Day Build. As usual I ignored it first, then when I saw people's curiousness about the last event by MLH - Learn wherein they stated it as the best event of all and its openness for beginners, it hit my consciousness. And I applied for the MLH LHD - Build my first hackathon!๐Ÿคฉ

And the experience with MLH is the best so far. โœจโœจ I had built some awesome projects like sending sms via twilio, building chess game, building a tic tac toe game, working with data sets, creating a personal portfolio with github pages, building a translator,building a voice recognition app and many more! You can find them on Devpost๐Ÿค—

I can't wait for MLH Share! I would recommend it to everyone who is reading this blog, whether you are a novice or an expert, you are going to learn and enjoy it for sure!๐Ÿ˜„

I have also registered to its Partner Hackathon Rose Hacks, eagerly waiting for it. ๐ŸŽ‰

Finally I'm out of my comfort zone and fully ready for the opportunities coming in.๐Ÿ’ช

Thanks to MLH for the awesome experience !โœจโœจโœจ

My final words for this blog

Its never too late to start again, just don't settle, keep moving, keep thriving!

PS. This is my first blog in Hashnode ๐ŸŽ‰

Feel free to connect on socials

LinkedIn | Hashnode | Twitter | Devpost | Github| Portfolio

Off topic

I write inspirational blogs and quotes too. You can check them here - Blogger and YourQuote